This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.

Back to Latest Red Wheel Site

Froghall Canal Basin

A major complex of canal-side wharves and lime kilns fed, since 1778, by a series of railways from the Cauldon Low limestone quarries

Red Wheel Site:
Transport Mode(s):

Foxt Road,



ST10 2HJ
Visitor Centre:

About Froghall Canal Basin

At Froghall Wharf, limestone was loaded onto canal narrow boats or burnt in lime kilns and then transported to the Potteries or further afield. The limestone was mined in the huge quarries at Cauldon Low and then loaded onto an inclined tramway to Froghall. Four tramways were built and parts of them are still tracable in the landscape including various bridges and inclines. The final tramway, built by James Trubshaw was the most significant and involved the most engineering. Trubshaw's tunnel near Windy Harbour is an excellent relic of this fourth route.

The canal basin at Froghall Wharf is now a pleasant spot for pleasure craft and walkers,with the huge dormant lime kilns dominating the area. It is hard to imagine the scene 100 years ago when loaded dusty wagons came speeding down the incline, with the noise from the crushing plant and the furnaces deafening and dust from the stone and smoke from the furnaces polluting the atmosphere.

The Cauldon Canal played a large part in the development of industry around Froghall. The basin at Froghall Wharf was originally the terminus of the Cauldon Canal, and a separate branch then ran to Uttoxeter. The Uttoxeter Canal was opened to traffic in 1811 and after years of heavy losses was closed in 1849. The branch was then mostly filled in and a railway was built over most of the canal bed.


Text from Wikipedia

Copyright © 2019 The Transport Trust. All rights reserved. The Transport Trust is a registered UK charity No. 280943 Registered address: First Floor, 26 Station Approach,Hinchley Wood, Esher, Surrey, KT10 0SR. Registered in England No. 1509733.